One day

24 Jul

The bishop and I spent too much money so we decided to economize for the rest of the week!  No trips to the store!  Eat food from pantry and fridge! (Which were stocked, so it’s not like it’s a hardship.) We made it one day!  

Then we realized we were out of Chaos Peanut’s precious Pediasure and also paper towels and bananas. And so Chaos and I went off to the store to get those things. 

So yeah.  We economized for one day.  

2 Responses to “One day”

  1. inothernews July 24, 2013 at 7:47 am #

    In the UK they have grocery delivery for anything over £50. It’s a lot, but I figure we spend that much doing multiple trips to the shops, so I thought I’d be all organized and order once in a week and have it delivered. Same thing, always forget little things and now we have this base order PLUS additional things so we are spending more. Sigh. My excuse is that we are trying to get a stocked cupboard, so we have to add more on at first. But then what happens? THEN WHAT HAPPENS?

    • ladymishegas July 26, 2013 at 2:37 am #

      When I lived in London I shopped at Sainsbury’s in Camden Town. This was before you could do a debit transaction here in the US, so I thought that was wonderful. Also, in the UK you can (or at least you could in 1990) overdraw your bank account without fees. V. dangerous, as they say. Sainsbury’s has this apple juice, they probably still do. It’s not apple juice like we have here, which is basically sugar water, or even cider, which is thick sugar water. It’s like they took the tartest and most delicious Granny Smith apples and distilled their essence into a box. So good. That’s also where I discovered Greek Yogurt, which you couldn’t get here for another 15 or so years. I used to get the full-fat Greek Yogurt and dip baguettes into it. English cooking may, traditionally, be awful, but English groceries RULE. Stock up for me too! XXOO

Leave a Reply

