Plagues continue

30 Dec

I am so done with drama.  I am so done with plagues.  Guess what?  I am so done with 2012.  Maybe 2013 will be better.  I mean, it probably WON’T be better, but maybe it won’t be worse, and things not getting worse sounds better than things getting worse.  Do you like how I’m thinking positive here?  It’s the power of positive thinking.  You should try it!  

The other night at about 1:45 a.m. I was woken from my sleep by the dulcet sounds of Aaron screaming, “Fire! There’s a fire outside!” I looked out the window and there was a big electrical fire in our front yard. WTF? The thing was bright and hot and super super scary and since it was a live power line, it just kept burning and burning. I picked up my cell phone which was next to my bed, thankfully, because we had no power, of course, and called 911. Aaron grabbed coats and children and so on, and we evacuated the house into the back yard.

The firefighters came and said we could go back inside because the ground was wet and they fire wouldn’t spread to the house. They waited outside for the utility to come and shut off the power, so we went back in and I tried to get the children back to sleep while listening to the ominous zzzzst zzzzst of the electrical fire (it was the only noise, with the power out) and watching these bright as hell flames outside my windows. Not so much relaxing.

After a bit, the utility came with these enormous trucks and bright lights and they put out the fire. Then they repaired the power line and even got our power back on, which I did not expect, after a fire like that.

So, we’re fine, the house is fine, and the  next morning it was like nothing happened.  Except we were tireder.  Even tireder than normal, and normally, we’re pretty tired.

And while I’m telling you about all the plagues that have befallen us, can I just tell you that on Monday, Baby Peanut has to have a procedure on his eyes?  Oh, it’s just a little thing, for blocked tear ducts.  They’re going to unblock his tear ducts and possibly place tubes in them.  He’s needed this for a while.  His eyes are seriously goopy.  Sometimes they are so goopy when he wakes up that he can barely pry his eyes open.  And the goop is irritating.  If I try to wipe it away, it hurts him, and sometimes his eyes look bruised from the goop.  So yeah, necessary.

But Baby Peanut!  Having a procedure!  He’s just a little little mister!  

One of Chaos’ teachers from her daycare is coming here to play with her and I am frantically cleaning because I don’t want him to know that I am a slob.  Also, the way we live, it’s been on our mind a lot.  We’re thinking that our disorganization is contributing to Chaos’ disorganization, so we’re trying to do better.  With mixed results.  You know, too much crap, too little space.  But I did a lot today.  Not enough, but a lot.  My mother is coming here too, on Monday.  I will clean and scrub and then she will say, “I don’t know how you live like this.”  I am not worried about that – I’m not really sensitive about it… but I think it’s nice when Chaos feels more organized because the home decor theme is more “Delicious Clutter” and less “Hoarders: Buried Alive.”

More on this later, perhaps, and possibly with Pinterest links.

One Response to “Plagues continue”

  1. Today'sThoughtExperiment January 8, 2013 at 2:24 am #

    I too wish to decorate my house in “Delicious Clutter”! Where can I sign up for the photo pictoral? Pinterest is not my bag. I could trade you tips on how to spruce up “Hoarders Buried Alive” with extra dog fur though.

Leave a Reply

