Grocery Shopping with Lady Mishegas

3 Jan

I hate it when Senator Mishegas tells me that the $9.64 we saved on groceries by being members of the store’s “savings club” is all a scam.

NOOOO!  I am a savvy shopping, coupon collecting Super Housewife, not the victim of a lousy scam!

Never mind that every time I save coupons, I lose them until they expire.  Then I find them.

5 Responses to “Grocery Shopping with Lady Mishegas”

  1. Tracy January 3, 2012 at 2:24 pm #

    Not a scam… You don’t have to pay for a membership. They just give you discounts that they withhold from people who don’t want to carry another plastic card in their wallet or on their keychain. We already know they mark up their prices ahead of time, but that doesn’t keep us from needing to buy the groceries.

    • ladymishegas January 3, 2012 at 2:31 pm #

      No way, if Senator Mishegas says it, it must be TRUE.

  2. Luna January 3, 2012 at 3:50 pm #

    I see the Senator’s point, but I think it’s not so much a scam per se as a means to collect demographics data, which helps stores decide what to stock, via a computer system connected with HQ (when you use “HQ” it sounds more important, no?). Me? I never give them my real information anyway, and only use my work phone number on the application, so at least if I lose the card, I can use a phone number I’ll remember to get the “discounts”.

    • ladymishegas January 3, 2012 at 9:19 pm #

      I think Bishop Mishegas (formerly Senator Mishegas) feels that they will give you the discount even if you don’t have the discount card, but I haven’t always found that to be the case. Like if I can’t find my keys because Chaos Peanut hid them and I run to the grocery store carrying the Bishop’s keys and I don’t have the store card on the key tag, I’ve had to beg really hard for the discounts. So I like having the store card.

      The store does have my real information, because I wasn’t nearly clever enough to give them fake information.

      I mean, on one hand, they’re collecting my information so that they can market to me, but on the other hand, maybe I want to be marketed to! I mean, one company marketed to me on Facebook and what they were offering was a breastfeeding HAT. OMG, I totally needed a breastfeeding hat! It’s a HAT! It fits over the baby’s head, and then I can get a little privacy while feeding Baby Chaos while not having to put him under a blanket (which he hates) while also putting a fabulous HAT on Baby Chaos! I totally needed that!

      So I’m not entirely adverse to being marketed to, because I would never even have known about the breastfeeding hat, and now that I know about it, I totally ordered one.

      • Luna January 4, 2012 at 2:41 pm #

        Tell me more about this hat? DOes it disquise the baby’s head as a boob? Or make him blend in with your shirt? 🙂

Leave a Reply

